Tuesday, February 19, 2008

2008 Ford Frick Award Winner: Dave Niehaus

Well congratulations to Dave Niehaus. Here's the official word from the Hall of Fame:
Dave Niehaus, the voice of the Seattle Mariners for all 31 seasons of the team's existence, has been named the 2008 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for major contributions to baseball broadcasting. Niehaus will be honored with the award during Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies on Sunday, July 27, in Cooperstown, N.Y.
"Dave Niehaus is the heartbeat of Mariners baseball. Since Day One, he has painted a picture of baseball and summer in Seattle better than anyone ever has," said Hall of Fame President Dale Petroskey.

Entering the 2008 season, Niehaus has broadcast 4,817 of the 4,899 Mariners games played, missing just 82 contests in the team's 31-year history.
I'm guessing this is probably not the right moment to say this, but if 31 years of screaming "MY OH MY" at the top of ones lungs is enough to get you the Frick Award, then we should start the campaign for John Sterling. How Mr. Niehaus was more worthy than Bill King, Joe Nuxhall, Tony Kubek or Graham McNamee is a question I will look to answer.

No comments: