Wednesday, December 05, 2007

Frick Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2008 Ford C. Frick Award, acknowledging broadcasters who "make major contributions to the game of baseball" have been named. They are (with their primary affiliation):

- Joe Nuxhall (Reds)
- Bill King (A's)
- Joe Morgan (ESPN)
- Dizzy Dean (CBS Game of the Week)
- Tom Cheek (Blue Jays)
- Tony Kubek (NBC Game of the Week, Blue Jays and Yankees)
- Dave Niehaus (Mariners)
- Dave Van Horne (Expos)
- Graham McNamee (NBC Radio- first truly modern radio play-by-play voice)
- Ken Coleman (Red Sox)

I guess any of these nominees would be acceptable, although I have some strong opinions on the likes of Morgan. My money is on either Nuxhall, King, or Cheek as each achieved a level of popularity and died within the past two years. My choices would be Kubek, who I thought was the first truly great analyst - long before he joined the Yankees - or McNamee, who has become largely forgotten.

We'll find out the winner on February 19th.

No comments: